Co-Founder of the First ‘Star Trek’ Convention Elyse Rosenstein Has Died

File 770 is reporting that Elyse Rosenstein, one of the organizers of the first Star Trek convention, suddenly passed away yesterday. A retired science teacher, she was undergoing rehabilitation for a broken leg when she passed.

As for her involvement in fandom, she played an important role in convention history. File 770 recounts:

With Joyce Yasner, Joan Winston, Linda Deneroff and Devra Langsam, she organized the very first Star Trek convention, held in NYC in 1972. The convention was not only the very first media convention, it was also the biggest science fiction convention to date by a considerable margin.

As Rosenstein recounted at a Star Trek convention held at the Javits Center in NYC which commemorated the 50th anniversary of Star Trek on NBC, she, with her friend and fellow fan Devra Langsam, first conceived the idea of the convention.

“For some unknown reason I turned to her and said, ‘Wouldn’t it be neat to have a science fiction convention for just ‘Star Trek?’ and she turned to me and said, ‘Yeah,’ we could invite 500 of our most intimate friends,’” she explained. “If she’d said that it was a terrible idea, none of this would have happened.”

Rosenstein was 69 years old and is survived by her son Michael.

Via File 770

Trae Dorn

Trae Dorn has been staffing conventions for over twenty years, and is a co-founder of Wisconsin’s longest running Anime convention No Brand Con. Trae also wrote and drew the now completed webcomic UnCONventional, and produces the podcasts BS-Free Witchcraft, On This Day With Trae, Stormwood & Associates, and The Nerd & Tie Podcast. This leads many to ask when the hell they have time to actually do anything anymore. Trae says they have the time because they “do it all quite poorly.”

One thought on “Co-Founder of the First ‘Star Trek’ Convention Elyse Rosenstein Has Died

  • February 21, 2020 at 7:11 pm

    I notified File 770 that Linda Deneroff was not one of the people involved with the 1972 convention. She joined us in 1973.

    The committee in 1972, as per the Souvenir Book was:

    Al Schuster, Co-ordinator
    Elyse Pines, Program
    Joan Winston, Dealers Room, NASA Display, Signs
    Eileen Becker, Registration
    Allan Asherman, Art Show
    Deborah Langsam, Costume Call
    Joyce Yasner, Displays
    Devra Langsam, Slide Shows, Program Asst.
    Regina Gottesman, Hospitality
    Steve Rosenstein, Auctioneer, MC
    Stu Hellinger, Program Assistant

    Chris Steinbrunner/Chester Grabowski, Visuals


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *